Past Award Recipients

AAUW-PA 2021-2022 Awards and Recognitions

Outstanding Woman 2021-2022

Outstanding Woman is awarded to a member of a branch for meritorious service to the branch and to the community. The 2021-2022 Outstanding Woman aware recipients are:

- Roberta Good, Beaver Valley
- Mayra Jones, Bethlehem
- Cheryl Lutz, Bradford
- Patricia Markowski, Carlisle
- Karol D'Huyvetters, Easton
- Loretto Bellicini, Erir
- Nancy Neal, Fox Chapel Area
- 100th Anniversary Committee, Harrisbury
- Charlotte Ridge, Huntingdon
- Lynne Alvine, Indiana County
- Georgia Yeager, Johnstown
- Suzan Leonard, Lansdale
- Dot Gaboda, Lower Bucks
- Helen Sudhaus, Makefield Area
- Janis Kapadia, North Hills Pittsburgh
- Judith Kraines, Reading
- Naana Nti, State College
- Karen Wellin, Valley Forge
- Anne Anderko, West Chester-Chester Co
- Betty Hooker, York
- Barbara Woodmansee, York

Member Making a Difference Award 2021-2022

The Member Making a Difference Award is given to someone who made a big difference in something important to the branch within the last year. The 2021-2022 Member Making a Difference award recipients are:

- Mary Ann Falcone-Bolland, Beaver Valley
- Joan Howe, Bethlehem
- Beth McKinley, Carlisle
- Jan Schwartz, Easton
- Claudia Mosso, Erie
- Our Membership, Fox Chapel Area
- Carol Nechemias, Harrisburg
- Whitney Carmichael, Indiana County
- Madeline Gyure, Johnstown
- Kenna Raymond, Johnston
- Pam Schleif, Lansdale
- Linda Lackpour, Makefield Area
- Frances Cech, North Hills Pittsburgh
- Ellie Hunt, Reading
- Estelle Stroup, State College
- Sandy Alexander, West Chester-Chester Co
- Nancy Spataro, York

Named Gift Honorees 2021-2022

Allentown

- Virginia Delph
- Linda Friscia-Oppe
- Cathy Kane
- Lesley Lojko
- Nancy Moffett
- Susan Nenstiel
- Karen Peiffer
- Beverly Tisdale
- Judith Trach

Peggy Tyson

Beaver Valley

- Community Committee
- Patty Rock

Bethlehem

Book Fair Chairs for the past 60 years

Carlisle

- Wendy Armour-Dickinson
- Barbara Attivo
- Becky Morgenthal
- Katie Parkowski
- Cynthia Sutton

Easton

• Christine Zweifel

Erie

- Asuman Baskan
- Edie Cultu
- Michelle Knight

Fox Chapel Area

Janis Johnson

Harrisburg

- Leigh Ann Chow
- Kathy Gates
- Beth Klein

Johnstown

Honorary Life Members

Lansdale

- Donna Cusimano
- Frances D'Angelo
- Pam Daveler
- Ellen Derose
- Laura Friedman
- Karen Holmes
- Evelyn Kelly

- Elizabeth Klopp
- Suzan Leonard
- Karen Maglaty
- Eileen McDonald
- Deborah Neves
- Diane Reckner
- Amy Ryan Faga
- Marian Scattergood
- Pam Schleif
- Connie Whitson
- Lee Wolfe

State College

- Christine Bishop
- Susan Chyczewski
- Nina Cowart
- Jordan Glover
- Epiphany Loux
- Jeannine Lozier
- Naana Nti

West Chester-Chester Co

- Deborah Liczwek
- Fran Pierce

York

- Betty Bortner (posthumously)
- Sandra Cooley
- Linda Palmer
- Shirlee Smolin (posthumously)
- Nancy Spartaro
- Phyllis Sword
- Barbara Woodmansee

AAUW Pennsylvania Gateway to Equity Award

Gateway to Equity 2021-2022

This branch award recognizes someone in the community who has advanced gender equity for women and girls through research, education, and advocacy. The award is traditionally given on March 8, International Women's Day. The recipients and the branches honoring them for 2021-2022 are:

Beaver Valley – Chief Master Sergeant Jessica E. Davis

Bethlehem – Lisa Ramos, Boys and Girls Club of Bethlehem

Bradford – Marie C. Troskosky

Carlisle – Jeanna Som & Manal El Harrak

Doylestown - The Afrrican American Museum of Bucks County

Easton - Margie DeRenzis

Erie – Edie Cultu & Niken Astari Carpenter

Fox Chapel Area – Refuge for Women

Harrisburg – Barbara Landis

Johnstown - Sherri Rae

Lansdale - Tina Stoll

North Hills Pittsburgh – Bonnie Joyce, RN MSN

Reading – Berks Women's History Alliance

State College – Ten Thousand Villages State College

West Chester-Chester County – Home of the Sparrow

York – Crystal Perry

Legacy Circle Members in Pennsylvania

THE AAUW BOARD OF DIRECTORS WISHES TO ACKNOWLEDGE AND THANK THESE VISIONARY PENNSYLVANIA LEGACY CIRCLE MEMBERS

Anonymous

Arlene K. Butts Umstead

Patricia Byerly

Ruth Damsker

Kimberly S. Edgar

Dorothy McLane

Marjorie M. Mowery

Susan K. Nenstiel

Frances C. Nyce

Ann K. Pehle

Jo Ann Piotrowski

Linda L. Robbins

Amber Summers

Elizabeth Summers

Sue A. Zitnick